Kay Brothers Amery

  • Kay Brothers Amery

Opening Hours

Mon - Fri 10am-5pm Sat - Sun 11am-5pm
Closed Christmas Day & Good Friday

Bordering St.Vincent's Gulf, 40 kms south of Adelaide, the Kay Brothers McLaren Vale Amery Vineyards grace the rolling foothills of the Southern Mt.Lofty Ranges. Established in 1890 by Australian born brothers Herbert and Frederick Kay the Heritage Listed Kays Amery Winery celebrated its first grape crush in 1895 and is the oldest McLaren Vale winery still in founding family hands with third generation Colin Kay continuing the family winemaking tradition. The winery is located at the top of a hill 5 kms from the McLaren Vale Township and the Cellar Door, which is part of the original Winery complex, boasts some stunning panoramic views of the surrounding picturesque valleys and hillsides. The welcome at Cellar Door is as friendly as the view is seductive so allow plenty of time during your visit to taste the renowned selection of traditional premium estate wines and explore the Kay Family diaries dating from 1891.Kay's are specialist traditional red wine makers utilising grapes from their own 22-hectare Amery Vineyard. The grape varieties grown are Shiraz (including the 1892 Block 6), Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Viognier, Grenache, Mourvedre (Mataro) and Muscat Blanc. Colin Kay's winemaking philosophy is to make rich fullbodied fruit-driven wines (using the original Open Fermenters and Basket Press) with small oak cask maturation.

Wines from Kay Brothers Amery

White and Sparkling

Red and Fortified

Kay Brothers Amery Image & Video Gallery

Kay Brothers Amery Contact Details


Kays Road

McLaren Vale South Australia 5171

Phone: 08 8323 8201

Fax: 08 8323 9199

Email: [email protected]

Cellar Door



Tasting Notes from Kay Brothers Amery

Block 6 Shiraz > 2014

  • Shiraz

    McLaren Vale



    $50 - $100

    2016 - 2028

Hillside Shiraz > 2012

  • Shiraz

    McLaren Vale



    $30 - $50

    2015 - 2020

Block 6 Shiraz > 2012

  • Shiraz

    McLaren Vale



    $50 - $100

    2015 - 2022